Easter Sunday Date Egg 2018

Easter Sunday - Date in Year 2018

Date of Easter Sunday:April 1, 2018
Date of Easter Monday:April 2, 2018
Easter dates for other years:
« 2017 | 2018 | 2019 »

How is the date of Easter calculated? - When is Easter 2018?

  • Easter is a "movable feast", which means that its date is not fixed in the calendar.
  • The date is calculated according to the Lunar Calendar.
  • Easter is related to the Jewish festival of Pesach (Passover).
  • In Christian Religion the Easter is celebrated on the first Sunday following the first Spring Full Moon.
  • Even though Spring Equinox can astronomically fall on different day each year, to simplify the calculation of Easter, the Spring is officialy set to begin on March 21st.
  • If the first Spring Full Moon falls on Sunday, then the Easter will fall on the following Sunday.
Date of Easter Sunday 2018 is calculated:
First Sunday - following - First Full Moon - following - 21 March 2018
Date 2018 Lunar Phase Moon Sign Event
Wed Mar 21 Waxing Crescent TaurusTaurus 21 March 2018
("officially" set as Spring equinox)
Thu Mar 22 Waxing Crescent GeminiGemini
Fri Mar 23 Waxing Crescent GeminiGemini
Sat Mar 24 First Quarter CancerCancer
Sun Mar 25 Waxing Gibbous CancerCancer
Mon Mar 26 Waxing Gibbous CancerCancer
Tue Mar 27 Waxing Gibbous LeoLeo
Wed Mar 28 Waxing Gibbous LeoLeo
Thu Mar 29 Waxing Gibbous VirgoVirgo
Fri Mar 30 Waxing Gibbous VirgoVirgo
Sat Mar 31
12:36
(UT/GMT)
FULL MOON LibraLibra First Full Moon following 21 March 2018
Sun Apr 1 Waning Gibbous LibraLibra Easter Sunday
Mon Apr 2 Waning Gibbous ScorpioScorpio Easter Monday
Chart of this moment
Current planets
Chart of this moment
Show chart »
Lunar calendar 2017
Lunar calendar
Moon in Virgo Virgo
Show calendar »